Mr. Burns

Mr Burns web image
Mr. Burns, a post-electric play
by Anne Washburn

Regional premiere: Oct 22 – Nov 7, 2015
Directed by Jeff Storer
Lyrics by Anne Washburn
Music composed and performed by Bart Matthews
Score for the original production was by Michael Friedman

d’oh! – an expression of grief or anger, derived from the realization of an idiotic act or mistake. –Urban Dictionary

In the aftermath of a civilization-ending apocalypse, survivors huddled around a campfire entertain each other by remembering and re-telling a classic episode of The Simpsons. And over the following decades, that story transforms into something rich and strange – and yet strangely familiar. From visionary playwright Anne Washburn, a comically Homeric epic about the power of theater and the resilience of the human spirit.
Featuring: Michael Brocki, Marcia Edmundson, Derrick Ivey, Carly Prentis Jones, Lormarev Jones, Emily Levinstone, Bart Matthews, Julie Oliver, Geraud Staton

Mr. Burns is produced with support from a Duke University Arts and Sciences Research Council Grant, a Collaborative Development Grant from the Duke University Council for the Arts, and by season support from the Duke University Department of Theater Studies. Manbites Dog Theater’s 2015-2016 season is supported by the Durham Arts Council’s Annual Arts Fund, and the North Carolina Arts Council, a division of the Department of Cultural Resources.


NOTE: Evening shows 7:30, matinees 2:00

All Shows:
• Thur Oct 22 – 7:30 – Bargain Preview Night
• Fri Oct 23 – 7:30 – Opening Night + Reception
• Sat Oct 24 – 7:30
• Sun Oct 25 – 2:00 Matinee
• Wed Oct 28 – 7:30
• Thurs Oct 29 – 7:30
• Fri Oct 30 – 7:30
• Sat Oct 31 – 2:00 Matinee (no evening show)
• Sun Nov 1 – 7:30 Evening show (NOT a matinee)
• Wed Nov 4 – 7:30
• Thur Nov 5 – 7:30
• Fri Nov 6 – 7:30
• Sat Nov 7 – 7:30

NOTE: We are SOLD OUT of advance tickets for all remaining shows – Thursday-Saturday Nov 5-7. We expect to have some tickets available at the door the night of each show. Sign-up for that night’s wait list starts when we open the doors each night about 6:30, in person only. Questions about the wait list? Go here and click on the waiting list tab.


Buy Tickets
Preview Night Thur Oct 22: All tickets $5
Opening Night/Reception Fri Oct 23: $25
Weekend Shows: $20 / $10 Youth/Student
Weeknight Shows: $12 / $5 Youth/Student
$2 Discount for Military/Seniors (62+)
Season Passes accepted for all shows.